Author Topic: 17hp Kawasaki 540  (Read 26275 times)

Offline meatloaf02

• View Profile
17hp Kawasaki 540
« on: June 06, 2011, 10:45:03 am »
I am looking to race a 17hp OHV Kawasaki motor.  Any input on this motor would be greatly appreciated.  How big of exhaust to build.  What type of carb is best for throttle response and performance?  Is there a place to buy performance parts?  I am new to racing, and would like to be competitve.  I also have a 12.5hp Kawasaki motor, just thought the more hp would be a good start. 
Just looking for some advice.  Thanks in advance.

Offline birdman_express

• I'm not fast...but man I can eat! INTEKS RULE THE PITS!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Highly Mowtivated
    • View Profile
Re: 17hp Kawasaki 540
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 10:57:11 am »
Having a chassis that can handle the power is more important than having more motor in the case of mower racing.
There are a few people that run Kawasaki's but they are custom pieces. Check out the build section on strengthening
the chassis, improving brakes and steering before going after the motor performance goodies.
Marc Baker

ARC Dealer

Marc from ARC.... "Billet Billet"

Powered by a Full Bug E.C. 20HP Vanguard!!!!

Offline tsmith1499

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 11:37:12 am »
Joey Nahas runs both of those motors and is knowledgable in this area. His "handle" here is "Flipper".  He will probably see this and chime in eventually after he recovers from Philly!!!

Chassis setup is WAY more important than engine power.  It also depends on what class you are going to run.  Some classes you are not allowed any internal mods. I know I am going to run mine stock because of the class I am planning on running in for the first year and then maybe move up after that.  From what Joey has told me the 17's have GREAT low end torque without any mods.
Tom Smith
Mount Airy, MD.
L130 Work In Progress

Offline meatloaf02

• View Profile